„A journey across the Brenner Pass and back..."

A musical trip across the brenner pass and back leads the audience into the world of early italian baroque music composed by very successfull „musical migrants“ at german and austrian courts. Every single piece in this program stands for different aspects of desire which always has been one of the major sources of artistic inspiration. Music has always been telling about joy, love, grief, melancholy and pain – which are the dramaturgical ingredients of this program.

The composers:
In 17th century´s Innsbruck for several years lived the musical migrant Giovanni Antonio Pandolfi Mealli, suffering from the rough climate, the limited space of the narrow tyrolian valleys and the cold mentality of the locals as well. The longing for his homelands reflects in the harsh cuts, strong affections and the highly expressive character of the sonatas op.3, which where composed for Anna von Medici at the Habsburg court of Innsbruck.

Against the tide of italian musicians who crossed the brenner pass northwards in big numbers, swam Johann Rosenmüller alias Giovanni Rosenmiller, who, accused for „Sodomiterey“ in Leipzig, fleed to Venice, the musical centre of the time. In his suites and dances he implemented forms and elements of german baroque music into the italian style. They too breathe an air of melancholy, this time because of homesickness for the north. Shortly before his death finally he gave in to this desire, and returnend to his german homeland...back across the brenner pass.


Cornelia Horak / soprano

Anne Marie Bösch

/ recorder
Thomas List / recorder
Eva Neunhäuserer / viola da gamba
David Bergmüller / theorbe, baroque guitar


Giovanni Rosenmiller (1617-1684) - Suite - Paduana, Alemanda, Courant, Ballet, Sarabanda

Giovanni Battista Buonamente (1595-1642) - Sonata prima

Giovanni Felice Sances (1600-1679) - Presso l'onde tranquille

Giovanni Antonio Pandolfi Mealli (1620-1669) - Sonata prima, op.4 - La Bernabea

Biagio Marini (1587-1663) - Sinfonia L'Albana Biagio Marini –

Biagio Marini - aus Scherzi e Canzonette 1622 - Donna che loda il canto di bellissimo giovanetto

Giovanni Rosenmiller (1617-1684) - Studentenmusik - Pavane

Biagio Marini – Sonata sopra la Monica

Biagio Marini - aus Scherzi e Canzonette 1622 - Invito a l'Allegrezza

Giovanni Antonio Pandolfi Mealli (1620-1669) - Sonata sesta, op.3 - La Sabbatina

Giovanni Battista Buonamente (1595-1642) - Sonata Decima – sopra Cavaletto zoppo

Giovanni Felice Sances (1600-1679) - Pianto della Madonna

Biagio Marini – Passacalio

pdf Programm - A journey across the Brenner Pass and back [pdf, 40 kb]