Bach has a dream

Bach has a dream is an artistic experiment, in which contemporary dance and solo works by Johann Sebastian Bach are meeting each other at eye level. Different baroque
forms such as fantasia, suite and ricercare create the starting point for the choreographies. The focus lies on the arising areas of conflict between dance and music, old and new, composed and improvised.

„Johann Sebastian Bach is sitting on the organ loft and starts his concert with a fantasia, whose sketchy draft arose in his head last evening. His fingers are running with furious and rushing sixteen, which are chasing each other in spinning figures, over the black and white keyboard. His gaze lands involuntarily on the mirror above his music stand, on which are no notes, because Johann Sebastian Bach fantasises totally free. A strange movement in the audience provokes his attention. A whirling shadow – a young man, a young woman? – moves at breakneck speed turning through the middle path of the church. The fluttering clothes streak the magnetised but also scaringly drawn back audience. A wave of amazement and excitement ploughs through the pews. A light breathlessness overcomes Bach. He plays and observes simultaniously this strange dancing being, that seems to originate from a distant time, born through his music? His fingers start rushing with fever, mirroring the spinning ecstatic movements of the dance. The eruptive outbreaks of his music are suddenly absorbed from an arising vacuum – his fingers freeze over abrupt stops, similar to a tectonic demolition, which drags the audience into spiritual abyss.

The dancing being sinks into this vacuum, all power has left its limbs. Breaking through the tension of silence, Bach hits again the keys with his skilled fingers in accentuated series of chords. The flogging chords drag the frozen being high up and lead it into dancemovements as if in a trance.

The dancer – now he recognises it clearly in the mirror – is a young woman, but she has
short hair, similar to a young man without a wig.“
(Anne Marie Bösch)

With Bach has a dream we are creating a symbiosis between baroque music by Johann Sebastian Bach and contemporary dance. The choreographer and performer Johanna Nielson develops together with the established musicians Anne Marie Bösch (Flauto Dolce) and Sonja Leipold (Cembalo) dramaturgical decisions.

Four different solo- and chamber musical works of J. S. Bach are building a programm with diverse constellations between musicians and dancer. On the one hand it brings music through dance and on the other hand dance through music closer to the audience and it communicates each discipline in a new context.


Anne Marie Bösch

/ recorder, concept
Sonja Leipold / cembalo
Johanna Nielson / modern dance, choreography
Magdalena Bösch / costume


J.S.Bach Fantasie BWV 922 – Cembalo Solo . Tanz

J.S.Bach Partita BWV 1013 – Flauto Dolce . Tanz
Allemande – Courante – Sarabande – Bourée Anglaise

J.S.Bach Sonate BWV 1035 – Flauto Dolce . Cembalo
Adagio ma non tanto – Allegro – Siciliano – Allegro assai

J.S.Bach Ricercare á tre voci, musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079 – Cembalo Solo . Tanz

pdf Programm - Bach has a dream [pdf, 43 kb]